The following resources are made available merely as a starting guide for vocal health and techniques. It is recommended that any serious training be undertaken with the supervision of a knowledgable instructor or coach. Available below is a small list of resources that can help enhance skill and increase knowledge.

Resource PDF Downloads

►Posture

Good posture allows the breath to be unrestricted; it also enhances vocal quality and confidence.

►Breathing

Correct breathing raises the level of fitness in the body, aids diaphragm control, gives focus, prepares, relaxes, and conserves the oxygen in the air that is breathed for longer sustained notes.

►Anchoring

Anchoring is used to support the voice.
SCM muscles and Body for high energy singing especially in belt.
Back of neck muscles for tilted thyroid.
Facial for extra resonance and forward placement.

►False Vocal Fold Retraction

For healthy phonation, retracting the false vocal folds is imperative. Don’t be discouraged if there are no immediate results, as it takes time.

►Vocal hygiene

It is important to give the body the best possible start for healthy singing. Given are some essential elements to take into consideration when training the voice, it’s up to the individual for maintenance and care and to know the bodies limits. If there is no reaction to dairy, then there is no need for abstinence. For caffeine lovers, don’t abstain on days when you’re not using your voice energetically. Be aware of food intolerances, as each individual will have different reactions.

►Backing Vocals & In-Ears

Great tips for the stage performer who uses audio equipment.

►Vocal Dynamics

Tips to try within songs to produce variation and add interest to the vocal line.

►Movable Transition 101

Your “go-to” essential information on how to develop and work vocal transitions.

►Vocal Gym Series

These CDs are designed to develop various aspects of the singer’s technique.

 


Other Resources

Recommended Reading

Kayes, G. “Singing and the Actor” London, A&C Black Publishers Limited, ©2004
ISBN10: 0-7136-6823-7
ISBN13: 978-0-7136-6823-0
www.vocalprocess.co.uk
Also available from Amazon USA | Canada | France | Japan | Germany
 

Videos

Various teaching videos available online.
Vocal Fold Structure: coming soon…
 

Student Websites

Roads www.myspace.com/roadsmusic
Worry Dolls www.worrydolls.net
Simon Roberts www.simonreesrocks.com
Seeing Verity www.seeingverity.com
Arabella Storyteller www.myspace.com/arabellastoryteller
 

Suppliers and Other Professionals

Vocal Process www.vocalprocess.co.uk
Sidmouth Gospel Choir www.sidmouthgospelchoir.co.uk
Rock School www.rockschool.com.au
Speech and Language Therapy www.rcslt.org
Voice Craft www.voicecraft.com.au
The Academy of Music and Sound www.academyofmusic.ac.uk
Essqué Productions www.essqueproductions.com